The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.

The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Game Reviews by carlos carlos

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Castling in Chess 960. New castling rules for Fischer Random Chess. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Carlos wrote on 2007-08-07 UTCPoor ★

As a user noted, and is stated in many BEGINNER chess books: Castling is a special move undertaken by both the rook and king, the sole purpose of being able to meet the following: Tuck the king away in a corner (either kingside or queenside) so that it is AWAY from the center and (in most cases) safe from hostile activity. Centralize the rooks so that they can be brought to action along the center files d1 (d8) and f1 (f8).

Fischer's castling rules satisfy the above requirements, while the proposed suggestion is completely illogical and should be discarded.

Many people seem to have a problem with Castling and stalemate rules. Think of castling as moving the king to a special bunker to hide from attack and think of stalemate as the king committing suicide so that your opponent cannot claim to have killed it (which is the objective of the game - to kill the king).

Bario. Pieces are undefined until they move. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2005-03-27 UTCGood ★★★★
a couple questions:

a standard chess set means one bishop of each color right?  i can't
choose to have two white-square bishops?

the rules don't say anything about captured bario pieces.  if one of my
undefined pieces is captured should i immediately define it?  or can i

PiRaTeKnIcS. Pirates on ships fight each other in 44-squares chess variant. (6x8, Cells: 44) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2004-10-13 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
cool game.  

as far as i can see, the rules don't clarify whether either a ship or a
crewman/crewmen can move through annoying empty ships.  what's the go?

Pocket Mutation Chess. Take one of your pieces off the board, maybe change it, keep it in reserve, and drop it on the board later. (8x8, Cells: 64) (Recognized!)[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2004-08-26 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
is repeated forced check a draw?

Hole Chess. Variant on a board of 44 squares with two holes that pieces can be dragged into. (7x10, Cells: 44) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2004-05-08 UTCGood ★★★★
i want to try this with normal pawns if anyone is interested. my only question is about the bishop. it can move one space orthogonally. if the white bishop is on d4, and a black piece is on f4, does the e4 hole count as a square? if not, then the bishop could suck that black piece in. i am guessing that the bishop cannot suck orthogonally like this, but can you confirm?

Ultima. Game where each type of piece has a different capturing ability. (8x8, Cells: 64) (Recognized!)[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
carlos carlos wrote on 2004-03-30 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
thanks for the swift replies.

that is how i initially thought the withdrawers must operate.  but when
playing my game of ultima in the tournament, i got in a position to take
in this (diagonal) manner, but typed in my move and the piece remained on
the board.  so i changed my move.  until i saw ben's next move, i did
realise that i had to manually (as it were) remove the piece from the 
board myself with a separate command.  never mind!  thanks again for the

carlos carlos wrote on 2004-03-30 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
i have two questions about rules i am not completely certain on.

1/ can a pincer pawn capture more than one piece (in one direction)?  e.g.
if there is a friendly piece on f4, and enemy pieces on f2 and f3, can a
pawn move to f1 and capture both?  i think this is unlikely, but i want to

2/ can withdrawers capture by moving away on the diagonal from an enemy
piece?  e.g. enemy on g5, can a withdrawer capture it by moving from f4 to


7 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.