[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment Duggan's Fantasy Chess (revised). Revised and Improved version of fantasy Chess variant. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]David Paulowich wrote on 2007-04-18 UTCFIDE Chess Position White: King(d3), Bishop (d5), Knight (c3) and Black (to move): King (a2), Queen (a1), Rook (b3), 2 Pawns (a3,b2). The simplest explanation for the philosophy behind ruling this position a checkmate is as follows. The Knight threatens to capture the Black King and end the game before the Rook can capture the White King. Fantasy Chess Position White: King(c2), Golem (a4) and Black(to move): King (a1), Golem (a2). Looks like stalemate to me - the Black Golem cannot move to c4, as that would allow the White Golem to capture the Black King. But how can the Black King be in check, when the White Golem must perform an illegal Golem capture 'before' it captures the Black King? In short I interpret the 'Golems may not capture other Golems.' rule to mean that a Golem check can be blocked by another Golem (of either color). Not sure why this game has two sets of colorbound pieces. An ordinary Knight is a useful piece, with no moves in common with the Golem. As for any problem with early Golem mates, you could try setting up the Pawns on ranks 3 and 6, as in MAKRUK.