Check out Chess with Different Armies, our featured variant for July, 2024.


[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Miscellaneous Chess FAQ. Some answers to some frequently asked questions about chess and trivia.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
🕸Fergus Duniho wrote on Sun, Jan 29, 2006 01:38 AM UTC:
You haven't described the situation clearly enough to tell. The rule in Chess is that a King may not move into check. If a King is able to move out of check by capturing the enemy Queen, then it should be able to do so.

Keli wrote on Sun, Jan 29, 2006 12:11 AM UTC:Good ★★★★
I play chess on a computer program called 'WorldChessNetwork' and in the program it does now allow the king to capture a queen once put into check be said queen even if capturing the queen is the only way to get out of check, is this a real rule or a flaw of the program?

AdamD wrote on Tue, Nov 22, 2005 01:06 AM UTC:
I think you got a little mixed up between one and won

ZEZima lover wrote on Fri, Nov 11, 2005 05:11 PM UTC:Excellent ★★★★★
I thought there would be another fool's mate. (queen f3- bishop c4) for white.

John Lawson wrote on Wed, Jun 18, 2003 03:09 PM UTC:
You can force him to move the piece. It's still up to him to choose any legal move with it.

tada wrote on Wed, Jun 18, 2003 02:20 AM UTC:Good ★★★★
can you force a player to make a stale mate if your playing 'touch move' and he touches the piece?

6 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.