Check out Alice Chess, our featured variant for June, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
The game of three kingdoms. Photo's of a three-player Xiangqi variant.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Anthony wrote on Sun, Dec 14, 2003 07:01 PM UTC:
<P>I like the 3-Kingdom variant & some-friends & I actually reproduce the board & tried many games on it. We applied basic Asian rules to it & take turns clockwise (I don't think this makes any diffence to the game). However, we've met some confusion over the ruling; particularly for the pawn.</P> <P>If the pawn has crossed the river but is still just on the opposite bank & have not move forward; can it then cross to the other opponent's 'river bank' again? Looking at the asian rules, a pawn is forbidden to move backwards period; but moving across the river to another opponents side looks like just a parellel move or a circuitous move to that spot. So what is the correct rule? We have played with this move allowed. Thus if the pawn crosses the river but remain on the 'river bank', it is allowed to crosss & recross the opponent's sides, it CANNOT cross back to its own home but it is allowed to move parellel to the river bank then cross to the other opponents side & do it as many times as neccessary as long as it haven't advanced another forward step. It is very playable thus & gives the pawn a bigger fighting power; which gives the game a more interesting twist. <B> But the question is which is the right rule?</B></P> <P><B>I would appreciate it if the instructions on the board in the photos provided can be produced in a much bigger form so the instructions are readable.</B> Perhaps then the confusion can be answered.</P> <P>Regards<BR> Anthony</P> <P>PS:The pieces in 3-Kingdom are relatively stronger than the normal chinese chess pieces. Think about it, a horse can cover 8 spots in the traditional version; in 3-Kingdoms, in some instances it can actually cover 12 spots and additional 4 spots.</P>

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.